There are DUI laws and consequences in Illinois. If arrested while driving under the influence, your driver's license could be suspended if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over .08 percent.
If convicted of a DUI, criminal penalties could be imposed in addition to the administrative consequences. Generally, the criminal penalties imposed for DUI convictions are more severe if:
-- The defendant's BAC is .16 percent or more.
-- If there is a passenger under the age of 16 in the vehicle.
-- If someone was badly hurt or killed.
The first DUI could cost you up to $3,000. That does not include attorney fees.
Two or more DUIs require you to hold a (RDP) Restricted Driving Permit for five years. With an RDP, you can only drive to work, school, medical appointments and alcohol and drug treatment, etc. An ignition interlock device (IID) must be installed in the vehicle for five years and you pay $30 each month it is used.
Community service, jail time and fines are possible up to a max of $25,000.
The Illinois Secretary of State will automatically suspend the license of any motorist who fails or refuses to submit to chemical testing. You will be taken straight to jail until someone bails you out. It costs $143-$300 to be bailed out of Rock Island jail.
Had too much to drink? Don’t drive. Call a taxi, a relative or a friend. Some bartenders who care about their customers will find you a ride home.
Also, don’t forget that your car insurance will probably double.