School board elections

The call for candidates to file for open school board seats in Rock Island County has been answered. The ballot is now set and voters will have their pick on April 2.

Interested candidates had until Dec. 17 to return petitions to the Rock Island County Clerk’s office. Individuals needed to collect signatures form at least 50 qualified voters, or 10 percent of the voters, whichever is less.

Some school districts have a healthy slate of candidates to fill open seats and others fell a little short. The Silvis, United Township, and Carbon Cliff-Barstow school districts all fell short in attracting enough candidates to fill open board seats.

Silvis School District voters have three seats to fill, but only incumbent Michael A. Terry, of Silvis, is on the ballot for the four-year term . Board members Kevin Rossmiller and Lindsay Wadsager did not file for re-election. Incumbent Lyle Lohse is on the ballot to fill the lone unexpired two-year term.

United Township High School District voters have two candidates on the ballot to fill three four-year open seats. Candidates are incumbents Sue A. Ickes and Larry F. Morgensen, both of East Moline. Current board member Janice Allison did not file for re-election.

Carbon Cliff-Barstow voters have three open four-year seats to fill and two candidates to pick from. Incumbents Lisa Cantrell and Brian Allen, both Carbon Cliff residents, are on the ballot. Ginger Anderson did not file for re-election. Additionally, Carbon Cliff-Barstow voters will have one unexpired two-year term on the ballot. No candidates filed for this position.

In the Rock Island-Milan district, voters have a slate of seven candidates to pick from to fill three four-year terms. This includes incumbents Linda Dothard and Tiffany Stoner-Harris, both of Rock Island. Board member Kevin Nolan chose not to run for re-election and is instead focusing on his business pursuits. Newcomer candidates include Sheleigh Martin, Kale Benjamin Mayberry, Laurie Figley, and Michael Matherly, all of Rock island; and Milan resident Megan Wilson.

Register for more free articles
Stay logged in to skip the surveys

East Moline is another district with a healthy slate of candidates, since voters will have their pick of five individuals to fill three four-year seats. Incumbents seeking reelection are Patrick Green and Susy Acosta-Hughes, both of Silvis. Incumbents Janet Neff and Tara Westbrook-Carpenter are not seeking re-election.

Also on the ballot are East Moline residents Benjamin Stockwell and Debra L. Faralli and Silvis resident Tricia Humphrey. Additionally, there is one two-year unexpired term seat open. East Moline resident Amy Beeding is the lone candidate for this position.

Riverdale School District residents have a slate of five candidates to pick from for three open four-year seats. This includes all three incumbents whose terms are expiring, Tim Baldwin, of Port Byron, and Hillsdale residents Jim Toppert and Rick Kessler. Also on the ballot are Kevin Mahraun, of Port Byron, and Amber Sensabaugh, of East Moline.

Rockridge School District voters can pick from six candidates to fill three four-year seats. Incumbents seeking re-election are Nathan Faith, Taylor Ridge, and Steve Frakes, of Illinois City. Jeff Widdop did no file for re-election. Also on the ballot are Wade R. Hofer, Illinois City, Drew Scharer (Widdop), of Taylor Ridge, and Tyler Kargl, Andalusia.

Both the Moline-Coal Valley and Hampton school districts ended up with an even number of candidates to fill open seats.

In Moline, voters will fill four open seats. Incumbents Justin Anderson and Kate Schaefer, both of Moline, are on the ballot. Current board members Tim Miller and Susan Tucker are not seeking re-election. The other two 2019 candidates, both of Moline, are Audrey Adamson and Maria S. Trigueros.

Hampton voters need to fill four open four-year seats with four candidates on the ballot. All 2019 candidates are incumbents and residents of Hampton: Jeannette M. Smith, Ryan Olson, Lauren Stottler, and Jeremy Bettis.


Load comments