Day in history for January 7, 2005
- 1855 -- 150 years ago
- Thomas Plummer has purchased the line of hacks which ply between Rock Island and Moline.
- 1880 -- 125 years ago
- P.L. Mitchell, Rock Island banker, today bought the Rock Island Glass Works for $29,000. Sale of the factory was made by James M. Buford as trustee.
- 1905 -- 100 years ago
- Finishing touches are being put to the new annex to the Modern Woodmen of America national headquarters. The society now has $300,000 invested in buildings in Rock Island.
- 1930 -- 75 years ago
- Two young bandits critically wounded William S. Batten of Davenport, a street car motorman. The Tri-City Railway Company is offering a reward of $250 for arrest of the holdup men.
- 1955 -- 50 years ago
- As a memorial to William Neff, son of Dr. E.B. Neff of Moline and the late Mrs. Neff, a unique recreation shelter has been constructed and is now in use at Boy Scout Camp Mansur, near Carbon Cliff. The Moliner was killed in an air crash in India during World War II. The William Neff Memorial features a 4-way fireplace in the center of the building.
- 1980 -- 25 years ago
- Officials at St. Anne School in East Moline have sent scores of students and teachers home in recent weeks to curb what county health officials say may be the worst of several outbreaks of head lice at area schools.
Back: Available days in January 2005