Day in history for June 28, 2004
- 1854 -- 150 years ago
- Major Barrett, proprietor of the Rock Island House, has bought the row of tenements on the south side of Illinois Street (2nd Avenue) known as Doty's Row. He has removed the old buildings and converted the ground into a lumber yard.
- 1879 -- 125 years ago
- The retrial of one of the murderers of Rock Island Policeman Rosenfield was held in Cambridge this week. A jury there also found the man guilty and sentenced him to life imprisonment.
- 1904 -- 100 years ago
- So many people are going to the world's fair in St. Louis by steamboat that the Diamond Jo Line will add two more steamers to its runs.
- 1929 -- 75 years ago
- Mrs. C.V. Golden, Cordova, was elected to her third term as chairman of the Rock Island County Home Bureau.
- 1954 -- 50 years ago
- June Haver and Fred MacMurray Monday night achieved their goal, a quiet wedding after one of the most publicized of recent Hollywood romances. The film actress is a former Rock Island resident. They slipped away from the film capital for a double ring, civil ceremony at the picturesque Ojai Valley Inn.
- 1979 -- 25 years ago
- The old McKinley School building in Silvis, owned by Bert Viscioni for use as a boxing gym, burned early this morning. Although the gym was saved, a wall caved in on Viscioni's $6,000 boxing ring, several pairs of expensive boxing gloves were lost, and a large curtain around the school's stage was destroyed.
Back: Available days in June 2004