Posted Online: April 17, 2013, 9:18 pm

Wethersfield's Fisher leads list of more local signings

Comment on this story

Staff report,

Wethersfield track star Sara Fisher is signing a National Letter of Intent on Friday to accept a scholarship deal with Eastern Illinois.

Fisher, who will combine track with women's rugby at the Division I school, is the latest local high school athlete taking advantage of the NCAA's Spring Signing Period to announce college plans.

The "Open Season'' signing period started Wednesday with a number of inkings around the area.

Among those not previously reported was a signing ceremony at Orion, with football players Austin Ceja (NAIA St. Ambrose), Dylan Schultz and Kayman Martens (both D-3 Dubuque) picking schools.

Bettendorf also had six student-athletes announce college plans Wednesday -- baseball's Alex Beals (Des Moines JUCO) and Brett Malsam (NAIA Mount Mercy), basketball's Ryan Tubbs (NAIA Judson), football's Blake Crutcher (D-3 Wartburg), tennis player Forrest Campbell (NAIA St. Ambrose) and wrestler A.J. Dougherty (Dubuque).

For a full listing of college-bound local prep athletes, please see this story on
Know of a college-bound local high school athlete? Let Steve Tappa know via email ( or phone (309-757-4967).

Where they're going

-- Athletes from area schools and conferences signing with colleges this school term:

Tyler Brooks, Muscatine (Iowa Western JUCO)
Austin Ceja, Orion (NAIA St. Ambrose)
Zack Clements, Muscatine (Iowa Western JUCO)
Savion Coleman, Bettendorf (Iowa Central JUCO)
Jon Crowe, Muscatine (D-3 Central of Iowa)
Blake Crutcher, Bettendorf (D-3 Wartburg)
Devin Daily, Pleasant Valley (Northern Iowa)
Mack Fulton, United Township (D-3 Monmouth)
Nick Heimendinger, Bettendorf (Iowa Western JUCO)
Malique Hudson, Bettendorf (Iowa Central JUCO)
Amos Johnson, Rock Island (NAIA William Penn)
Jacob Judd, Clinton (Western Illinois)
Drake Kulick, Muscatine (Drake (preferred walk-on))
Tyler Lloyd, Muscatine (Iowa Western JUCO)
Kayman Martens, Orion (D-3 Dubuque)
Jonathan Mixon, Galesburg (Army)
Nick Pearson, United Township (D-3 Ripon)
Jared Requet, Moline (NAIA William Penn)
Markel Richardson, Rock Island (NAIA William Penn)
Nick Schebler, Assumption (Army)
Randy Schmidt, North Scott (D-2 Northwest Missouri State)
Dylan Schultz, Orion (D-3 Dubuque)
Jake Shoultz, Muscatine (Iowa Western JUCO)
Max Weber, Muscatine (Iowa Western JUCO)
Derrick Willies, Rock Island (Iowa)

Track/cross country:
Ethan Adlfinger, Alleman (D-3 North Central)
Caleb Drake, Pleasant Valley (NAIA Olivet Nazarene)
%-Sara Fisher, Wethersfield (Eastern Illinois)
Lindsey Gidel, Moline (D-3 Loras)
$-Taylor Jefford, Moline (D-3 Aurora, track)
Megan Nickles, Bettendorf (Missouri State)
Anna Peer, Bettendorf (Nebraska)
$-Levi Perry, United Township (D-3 Monmouth)
Stephanie Saey, Galesburg (DePaul)
Matt Tuttle-Timm, Moline (D-3 Augustana)
Haley Verbeke, Moline (Illinois State)
$-Mahnee Watts, Bettendorf (Iowa)

Mamadou Ba, United Township (Prairie State JUCO)
Claudio Barbosa, United Township (Scott JUCO)
Laura Burrill, United Township (Illinois State)
Todd Flamer, United Township (Scott JUCO)
Bri Hughes, Moline (Western Illinois)
Samantha Irby, United Township (D-3 Rockford)
Drew Merideth, United Township (Southern Illinois-Edwardsville)
Danielle Moore, Assumption (Iowa State)
Katie Moore, Bettendorf (Arkansas)
Fernando Rios, Alleman (D-3 Augustana)
Edwin Salazar, Moline (Lincoln JUCO)
Brandon Sanchez, Moline (D-3 Carthage)
x-Cruz Sandoval, United Township (Scott JUCO)
Mitchell Schneider, United Township (Scott JUCO)
Carolyn Silverman, Bettendorf (D-3 Grinnell)
Kelsi Smith, Moline (D-3 Monmouth)
Jessi Tapia, United Township (D-3 Dubuque)
Caitlynne Terronez, United Township (D-4 Dubuque)
Julio Villafuerte, Moline (Prairie State JUCO)
Marco Villagomez, United Township (NAIA St. Ambrose)

@-Emilio Alonso, Moline/Southeastern JUCO (Black Hawk JUCO)
* Tommy Argo, Assumption/Black Hawk (NAIA St. Ambrose)
Alex Beals, Bettendorf (Des Moines JUCO)
@-Brinn Bell, Rock Island (Illinois St.)
Matt Brill, Moline (Appalachian St.)
Derek Burkamper, Muscatine (Nebraska)
Dan Cutkomp, Alleman (John A. Logan JUCO)
Dallas DeVrieze, Moline (Appalachian St.)
Brandon Engler, North Scott (Black Hawk JUCO)
Jake Friichenicht, Sherrard (Black Hawk JUCO)
@-Seth Fuller, Moline/Western Illinois (Black Hawk JUCO/# Northern Illinois)
Connor Gunneman, United Township (Parkland JUCO)
Justin Hill, Bettendorf (Southeastern JUCO)
Brian King, Sherrard (Black Hawk JUCO)
Brett Malsam, Bettendorf (NAIA Mount Mercy)
Cal Moyer, Moline (NAIA Bryan, Tenn.)
Terry Ogden, North Scott (Black Hawk JUCO)
@-Dan Robinson, Sterling/Murray State (Black Hawk JUCO)
x-Jake Scudder, Rock Island (Iowa Western JUCO)
Cody Sedlock, Alleman (Illinois)
Justin Shaffer, Durant (Black Hawk JUCO)
*-Jake Sharp, Alleman/Black Hawk (Iowa)
Matt Ulrich, Bettendorf (Three Rivers JUCO)
Jake Viaene, Moline (Black Hawk JUCO)
Cam Wernentin, Bettendorf (Carl Sandburg JUCO)
Drew Wescom, Assumption (Black Hawk JUCO)

Megan Butler, Muscatine (D-2 Upper Iowa)
Jordan de los Reyes, Moline (Illinois St.)
Kaitlyn Finneran, Morrison (Drake)
Holly Hoelting, Pleasant Valley (Western Illinois)
Chasney Jenkins, Alleman (Kirkwood JUCO)
Sarah Kennedy, Bettendorf (D-2 Augustana, South Dakota)
Miranda Marion, Moline (Muscatine JUCO)
Maaddie McGuire, Alleman (Iowa Western JUCO)
Chloe Miller, Pleasant Valley (Wisconsin)
Sadie Mosher, Riverdale (Lincoln Land JUCO)
Avery Nelson, Alleman (Muscatine JUCO)
Brooke Prior, United Township (Kirkwood JUCO)
Hope Scheffert, Dav. North (Iowa St.)
#-Riley Strandgard, Sherrard (Illinois St.)
@-Kayla Tatge, Sherrard/Kirkwood (NAIA St. Ambrose)
Lexy VandeMoortel, Alleman (Muscatine JUCO)
^-Lecy Waldbusser, Moline (D-3 Monmouth)

Shavonne Brewer, Rock Island (D-2 Rockhurst, Mo.)
Billy Daniel, Assumption (D-2 Truman State)
Morgan Gerard, Moline (D-3 Loras)
#-Ethan Happ, Rockridge (Wisconsin)
Zoe Kelso, Alleman (Kirkwood JUCO)
Leti Lerma, Muscatine (Bradley)
Kaycee Kallenberger, Pleasant Valley (Eastern Illinois)
Cassie Reiley, Prophetstown (NAIA St. Ambrose)
Derrick Stabler, Moline (D-3 Knox)
Ryan Tubbs, Bettendorf (NAIA Judson)
Jamie VanWatermeulen, United Township (D-3 Augustana)
Jennifer VanWatermeulen, United Township (D-3 Augustana)

AJ Dougherty, Bettendorf (D-3 Dubuque)
Bubba Hernandez, Bettendorf (Iowa State)
B.J. McGhee, Rock Island (Missouri)
Kyle Springer, Assumption (Indiana)

Kelcey Adams, Geneseo (D-3 Benedictine)
Becki Hinz, Moline (Iowa Central JUCO)
Erin Mead, North Scott (NAIA St. Ambrose)
Megan Paustian, Pleasant Valley (Kirkwood JUCO)
Elizabeth Schindler, Princeville (Illinois Central JUCO)
Jacqueline Twing, Rock Island (Illinois Central JUCO)
Josie Weber, Princeville (Black Hawk East JUCO)

Haden Calegan, Muscatine (Pittsburgh)
Travis Greenwald, Muscatine (Denver)
Keanu Interone, Sterling (Utah)
Gabby Stecker, Pleasant Valley (Illinois)

Anna Cullinan, Pleasant Valley (Western Illinois)
Dylan Daxon, Rockridge (D-2 Adelphi, NY)
Laurel Enstrom, Rock Island (D-2 St. Cloud St., Minn.)
Adam Hutton, Muscatine (NAIA St. Ambrose)
*-Spencer Jones, Davenport North/Black Hawk (NAIA St. Ambrose)
Emily Thomas, Moline (Rend Lake JUCO)

Jennifer Rahn, Sterling (Iowa)

Forrest Campbell, Bettendorf (NAIA St. Ambrose)

$-Track only; ^-Also golf; %-Also rugby; *-Junior college transfer from Black Hawk; @-Transfer from another college; x-Note: 2012-13 verbal commitments; #-Note: 2013-14 verbal commitments.