Posted Online: Aug. 19, 2011, 7:00 pm

Local Women In Construction hand out honors

Comment on this story

The Quad City Chapter of the National Association of Women In Construction recently honored professionals and building owners of 60 projects built over the past two years, and representing $292 million in local investment.

Sixteen awards of merit and eight awards of excellence were awarded during the 19th biennial Lorraine D. Wright Construction Awards banquet in Davenport. Building owners, architects, engineers, general contractors, subcontractors, and material suppliers who worked on those projects qualified.

Projects were nominated in 12 categories -- education, commercial/retail, industrial/manufacturing, and community and arts.

Judges selected winners based on structure (building materials, style, and level of complexity), aesthetics, harmony with surrounding environment, and impact of the project on the community.

Awards of merit were given to: Ashford University Stadium; Brown Mackie College; city of Bettendorf Streetscape Masterplan and Phase 1 Construction; city of Davenport Union Station Conversion; Clinton Community College Maquoketa Center; Crescent Electric Supply Co.; Deere & Company Product Engineering Facility; and FedEx Freight, East Moline.

Also, Handicapped Development Center, Personal Independence; Lighthouse at Silvis - Memory Care; Plumbers and Pipefitters Local 25; Quad Cities Kidney Center; Rock Island Arsenal Building 220 Exterior Restoration; Rock Island Center for Math & Science; SSAB Research and Development Facility; and St. Ambrose University Center for Health Sciences Education at Genesis.

Awards of excellence were presented to: Augustana College Central Campus Multi-Use Trail; Davenport Public Library Eastern Avenue Branch; Hotel Blackhawk; John Deere Aviation Hangar; Schwiebert Riverfront Park; Scott Community College Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management Building; St. Anthony Catholic Church; amd Von Maur E-Commerce Distribution Facility.

Winning architects and engineers were: BLDD Architects; Downing Architects, P.C.; Durrant, Engberg Anderson, Inc.; GBC Design, Inc.; Gere/Dismer Architects; Goetting & Associates; Greenspace Associates, Inc.; HKS Architects; IEFM Consulting Engineers; Jeffery Loebach, AIA; Joseph Architectural Group, PC; KJWW Engineering; KPFF Consulting Engineers; Larrison & Associates Architects; Missman, Inc.; MVP Services Group, Inc.; OPN Architects; Riley Engineering; SAA Design Group; Scholtz Gowey Gere Marolf Architects & Interior Designers; Shive-Hattery, Inc.; SP Architects; Stanley Consultants, Inc.; amd W-T Engineering.

Winning general contractors were: Big Dog Construction Co. Inc.; Brandt Construction Co.; BSI Constructors; Build To Suit Inc.; Bush Construction Company Inc.; E&H Restoration; Estes Construction; General Constructors Inc.; Hawkeye Paving Corp.; Northwest Restoration Co.; Portzen Construction Inc.; Russell Construction Company; Swanson Construction Co.; Swensen Construction Inc.; amd Williams/Valley Construction Management LLC.