Moline John Deere store named top Illinois gift shop


Share
Posted Online: March 26, 2013, 2:13 pm
Comment on this story | Print this story | Email this story
Submitted press release


JOHN DEERE STORE NAMED TOP ILLINOIS GIFT SHOP BY ILLINOIS TRAVEL GUIDE

2013 Guide Cites john Deere Store Among Top 10

(Moline, Illinois) - The 2013 Illinois Travel Guide named The John Deere Store one of the top 10 gift shops in Illinois. The John Deere Store stocks a large selection of the latest officially-licensed John Deere merchandise including clothing, toys, books, and collectibles.
"We're honored to be among some of the most esteemed museum gift shops in Illinois," says store manager, Dave Anderson. "Our friendly staff is dedicated to providing a one-of-a-kind shopping experience for visitors from around the world where our leaping deer trademark is always in sight."
The Store features a library area where customers can peruse a variety of John Deere-themed books, videos, and artwork. A tabletop proving grounds gives junior shoppers a chance to test drive several of the scale-model toy machines available at the Store.
The Store is located next to the John Deere Pavilion, which opened along with the Store in 1997. Since then, the Pavilion has consistently been a top tourist attraction in the Quad Cities and the State of Illinois, welcoming more than 2.9 million visitors from all corners of the globe. Anderson points out that most, if not all, Pavilion visitors also drop by the Store to find something special for themselves and everyone on their gift list.
The Pavilion underwent a near total transformation of the visitor experience in 2012, offering an up-close look at the company's global businesses and products, rich history and heritage, and solutions for the challenges of providing food and infrastructure to the world's growing population.
Interactive displays, original artifacts, and a variety of media engage visitors in a fun and exciting learning environment for the whole family.
The John Deere Pavilion is a free attraction and, along with the John Deere Store, is open year-round. For more information about the John Deere Pavilion, Store and

















 



Local events heading








  Today is Sunday, April 20, the 110th day of 2014. There are 255 days left in the year.

1864 -- 150 years ago: The attention of contractors is called to proposals for building a magazine. The building is to be erected on the south side of the island, above the railroad, nearly opposite Sinnit's ice houses.
1889 -- 125 years ago: Ladies patent leather tip shoes were selling for $3 at the M & K store, and men's spring overcoats were advertised at $7.50.
1914 -- 100 years ago: Fred Feuchter, of Davenport, was elected president of the Tri-City Post Office Clerks club, and Joe Goldsmith, of Rock Island, was named secretary treasurer.
1939 -- 75 years ago: Mass vaccination of more than 1,600 employed of the Rock Island Arsenal has been ordered by Col. Norman Ramsey after a 13-year-old daughter of the Arsenal manager became ill with smallpox.
1964 -- 50 years ago: The 1964 Scout-O-Rama of the Sac-Fox Council of Boy Scouts closed a two-day session last evening at the Rock Island Armory with 5,000 paid attendance.
1989 -- 25 years ago: "From the horse and buggy days ... to this" said Mercer County Sheriff Marvin Thirtyacre, waving his hand to indicate the sheriff's department facilities at the new $1.5 million Mercer County Jail in Aledo.




(More History)