2012 Dispatch-Argus Area Football All-Star team

Posted Online: Dec. 09, 2012, 10:49 pm
Comment on this story | Print this story | Email this story
Player of the Year Tanner Matlick
Mercer County, QB, Sr.

Illinois Football Coaches Association Class 2A All-Stater and first team All-Lincoln Trail pick who completed 62 percent of his passes for 1,977 yards, 21 TDs and four INTs. Also ran for 230 yards and 10 TDs to finish with 2,207 total offensive yards for undefeated Class 2A state champions.

First team Drew Amador
Orion, OL/LB, Sr.:
First team All-West Central; second-leading tackler with 91 total stops.

Cody Beyer
Erie-Prophetstown, OT/LB, Sr.:
Second team All-Big Rivers on both sides of ball; tallied team-best 102 tackles.

Nathan Fay
Sherrard, WR/DB, Sr.:
First team All-WCC; among top 3 receivers for the Tigers.

Skyler Goodwin
Monmouth-Roseville, RB/DB, Sr.:
First team All-WCC; tallied 532 total yards and three TDs; 52 tackles, two INTS and two fumble recoveries.

Calvin Harridge
Morrison, C/LB, Sr.:
IFCA 2A All-State pick and first team All-Big Rivers on both sides of the ball; posted 111 tackles and 74 solo stops.

Payton Holmes
Mercer County, WR/KR, Sr.:
Unanimous first team All-LTC; caught 40 passes for 603 yards and 10 TDs.

Ethan Howard
Erie-Prophetstown, QB, Jr.:
First team All-Big Rivers; compiled more than 1,000 combined passing and rushing yards.

Martel Hunter
Monmouth-Roseville, RB/DB, Jr.:
IFCA 3A All-State pick and first team All-WCC; rushed for team-best 1,703 yards and 22 TDs; had team-best 104 tackles with three INTs.

Zach Inskeep
Erie-Prophetstown, RB/LB, Sr.:
IFCA 3A All-State pick and Big Rivers Player of the Year; team-best 1,123 yards and 15 touchdowns.

Kegan Jacobson
Annawan-Wethersfield, TE/LB, Sr.:
All-LTC pick on both sides of the ball.

Kent Keener
Sherrard, WR/DB, Sr.:
First team All-WCC.

Caleb King
Mercer County, LB, Sr.:
Unanimous first team All-LTC; tallied 116 tackles with six TFLs.

Blake Matson
Orion, QB, Jr.:
First team All-WCC; threw for more than 1,500 yards and 15 TDs.

Owen McConnell
Erie-Prophetstown, OG/DL, Jr.:
First team All-Big Rivers on defense (second team offense); posted 65 total tackles.

Landon McIntosh
Mercer County, DT, Sr.:
Unanimous first team All-LTC; finished with 123 tackles, nine TFLs and five sacks.

Cody McKillip
Rockridge, OL/DL, Sr.:
First team All-WCC.

Dalton McManus
Rockridge, RB/DB, Jr.:
First team All-WCC; more than 700 rushing yards.

Danton McMullin
United, RB/TE/LB, Sr.:
First team All-LTC on both sides of the ball.

Kyle Meurs
Morrison, OG/LB, Sr.:
First team All-Big Rivers on offense and second-team defensive pick; led team with 114.5 tackles.

Will Myers
Monmouth-Roseville, LB, Sr.:
First team All-WCC; posted 73 tackles with five TFLs and three fumble recoveries.

Zach Nelson
Mercer County, RB/LB/DB, Sr.:
First team All-LTC on defense (second team offense); posted 67 tackles and three interceptions and ran for 995 yards and 15 TDs.

Michael Olin
United, RB, Sr.:
IFCA 1A All-State pick and first team All-LTC; led team with 1,331 yards and 21 TDs.

Dylan Schultz
Orion, RB/LB, Sr.:
IFCA 2A All-State pick and first team All-WCC; rushed for more than 1,200 yards and had 25 TDs, top tackler with 93 stops.

Bryce Skiles
Mercer County, DB, Sr.:
Unanimous first team All-LTC; posted 55 total tackles and three INTs.

Micam Smith
Annawan-Wethersfield, RB/LB, Jr.:
First team All-LTC on both sides of ball; ran for team-high 1,429 yards and 21 TDs.

Michael Smith
Annawan-Wethersfield, OL/DL, Sr.:
IFCA 2A All-State pick and first team All-LTC on both sides of the line.

Trayvon Smith
Monmouth-Roseville, RB/DL, Jr.:
First team All-WCC; compiled over 425 total yards with five TDs; 78 tackles.

Darren Southwell
Rockridge, RB/LB, Jr.:
First team All-WCC; rushed for more than 1,100 yards.

Nyle Stevens
Rockridge, QB/DB, Sr.:
First team All-WCC; combined for more than 850 yards rushing and passing.

Jake Willging
Fulton, OG/DL, Jr.:
First team All-Big Rivers on offense (second team defense); 54 total tackles.

Danny Willis
Morrison, RB, Sr.:
First team All-Big Rivers with team-best 903 rushing yards, 1,408 total offensive yards and 14 TDs.

Matt Zimmerman
Mercer County, OT, Sr.:
Unanimous first team All-LTC selection.

Honorable mention Annawan-Wethersfield: Grant Baele, Andrew Draminski, Ben Foster, Tony Gripp;Erie-Prophetstown: Ken Cole, Ian Franks, Brandon McCullough, Caleb Scanlan, Nick Williams;Fulton: Bryce Holesinger, T.J. Huizenga, Cody Johnson, Ethan Jones, Austin Manon, Austin Regenwether;Kewanee: Jared Nimrick, Dalton Nuding, David Washburn, Ethan Washburn;Mercer County: Bobby Lincoln, Teryima Manta, Devin Morford, Chris Neeld, Tyson Nylin, Buddy Shaw, Logan Snyder, Jesse Snyder;Mid-County: Connor King, Taylor Roberts;Monmouth-Roseville: Nick Hart, Tanner Woods;Morrison: Brock Deter, Nolan Dykema, Ryan Mayberry, Alexander Volckmann, Matt Wilkens;Orion: Carson Bloomberg, Mikey Dierikx, Jacob DeVolder, Joe DeVolder, Jake Schulenberg;Ridgewood: Joe Chiolero, Elisha McCreary, Jacob Peterson;Riverdale: Bart Johnson, T.J. Lowe, Logan Sherman, Terry White;Rockridge: Zack Foster, Tyler Freyermuth, Tanner Gillispie;Sherrard: Brad Basala, Clayton Bjustrom, Lucas Boraas, Jake Coyne, Jake Kissner;United: Sam Eshelman, Austin Schleich, Grant Schrock, Brandon Sharer, Jack Whitsitt.


Local events heading

  Today is Tuesday, Sept 2, the 245th day of 2014. There are 120 days left in the year.

1864 — 150 years ago: It is estimated that 300,000 people attended the recent Democratic convention in Chicago when Gen. George B. McClellan of New Jersey was nominated as a candidate for president of the United States.
1889 — 125 years ago: Alderman Frank Ill, Winslow Howard and Captain J.M. Montgomery returned from Milwaukee, where they attended the national Grand Army of the Republic encampment.
1914 — 100 years ago: Three members of the Rock Island YMCA accepted positions as physical directors of other associations. Albert Cook went to Kewanee, C.D. Curtis to Canton and Willis Woods to Leavenworth, Kan.
1939 — 75 years ago: Former President Herbert Hoover appealed for national support of President F.D. Roosevelt and Congress in every effort to keep the United States out of war.
1964 — 50 years ago: The Rock Island Junior chamber pf Commerce has received answers to about 65 % of the 600 questionnaires mailed out recently in a "Community Attitude Survey" to analyze sentiments of citizens towards their city's various recreational, educational, and civic service programs.
1989 — 25 years ago: The two thunderstorms passing through the Quad Cities last night and early today left some area residents reaching for their flashlights.

(More History)