Letter: Save depot, monument to people who built, used it


Share
Posted Online: Dec. 05, 2012, 11:41 am
Comment on this story | Print this story | Email this story
Why save Moline's Railroad Depot?

Buildings are part of the city's soul, a chronicle of the work of the people who built the city. Preservation is the best way to teach about historic buildings and the values and commerce attached to them. Since it must be moved, how appropriate that the Depot be at Q-C's Western Illinois University campus.

Payoffs from maintaining old buildings are priceless. The heritage landmarks leave for the future are a testament to the industry, skills, and inspirations that sustained our ancestors.

Buildings are monuments to the people who made, maintained, and used them in practical and aesthetic ways.

Though new buildings are practical, we must save some of the old culture. Countries from whence we came have buildings many centuries old. Americans must continue to adapt old into new.

City officials approved landmarking Moline's only remaining rail depot in 1994. How better could they use money which the state paid for the Depot land than saving the landmark?

I know money is not falling from the sky, but if the city refuses to support this landmark, which the city previously bought for over $200,000, what precedent is this setting for future preservation? Illinois Department of Transportation, WIU, and individuals are contributing to bringing the landmark to a useful state.

If you care about saving part of history and adding timeless character to the WIU campus, please go to website "SavetheDepot.com", or mail a pledge by December 18, 2012, to Box 9141, Moline, IL, 61265. Help save the Depot!

Scarlett Imhoff,
Moline



















 




Local events heading








  Today is Monday, Sept. 15, the 258th day of 2014. There are 107 days left in the year.

1864 — 150 years ago: The Rock River Illinois conference of the Methodist Church will hold its annual sessions this week in this city. About 200 ministers are expected to attend.
1889 — 125 years ago: The Brush electric company had prepared a new schedule of rates to become effective Oct. 1, with slightly increased rates to consumers.
1914 — 100 years ago: The Rock Island Aerie of Eagles made plans for the laying of the cornerstone of a new $50,000 Eagles Home. W.C. Maucker is to be master of ceremonies.
1939 — 75 years ago: Col. Charles A. Lindbergh spoke on "America and Foreign War" in a neutrality debate over nation wide radio hook-up.
1964 — 50 years ago: Two awards of the National Safety council were presented to the city of Rock Island today at noon at a meeting held in the YWCA.
1989 — 25 years ago: The final tallies are not yet in for the summer 1989 Quad-Cities tourism season, but officials are expecting the number of visitors to the area to be at least as good as, if not better than, 1988.






(More History)