Free admission at the Figge on Saturday


Share
Posted Online: Nov. 13, 2012, 1:04 pm
Comment on this story | Print this story | Email this story
Press release submitted by Figge


Davenport, IOWA (November 2012) – Downtown Davenport will be bustling this weekend with the Festival of Trees kick off parade. Spectators will have the opportunity to warm-up at the Figge Art Museum where FREE ADMISSION, sponsored by Butler Insurance, is being offered on Saturday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. in conjunction with the parade festivities.

Visitors can check out the newly opened exhibitions including Quilts: Masterworks from the American Folk Museum featuring 27 priceless quilts from the beginning of the 19th century to the end of the 20th century. and Portrait of Maquoketa: The Dimensional View showcasing 180 oil painting portraits that Rose Frantzen created from July 2005 to July 2006 in Maquoketa, Iowa.

The Museum Store will be offering The Holiday Experience Package which includes a $10 Museum Store coupon, a $10 Thursdays at the Figge Café coupon, a $5 class coupon, a free private tour for up to 10 people and 2 guest admission passes. Normally valued at more than $115, members can purchase it for just $25 and non-members for $40.

The end of year gift membership sale also starts Saturday and includes deep discounts on yearly memberships to the Figge. This unique holiday gift can also be purchased online at www.figgeartmuseum.org.

About the Figge Art Museum
The Figge Art Museum is located on the riverfront in downtown Davenport at 225 West Second Street. Hours are from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Tuesday through Saturday and Sundays 12-5 p.m. Thursdays the museum is open until 9pm. Admission to the museum and tour is $7. Admission is free to Figge members and institutional members. To contact the museum, please call 563.326.7804, or visit our website, www.figgeartmuseum.org.



















 



Local events heading








  Today is Thursday, Oct. 2, the 275th day of 2014. There are 90 days left in the year.

1864 -- 150 years ago: The ladies have adopted the fashion of wearing representations of insects in the flowers on their bonnets. Some look very natural.
1889 -- 125 years ago: T.F. Cary, former Rock Island alderman, has accepted a position as salesman for a Chicago wallpaper house and plans to move to that city.
1914 -- 100 years ago: Work on the new telephone building on 18th Street between 6th and 7th avenues is progressing rapidly.
1939 -- 75 years ago: Rock Island's new theater at 3rd Avenue and 19th Street will have a name significant of its location. The "Rocket" is scheduled to open Thanksgiving Day.
1964 -- 50 years ago: Two of Rock Island's newest water towers were vandalized last night, including the one at 38th Street and 31st Avenue, where police took five Moline boys into custody about 9 p.m..
1989 -- 25 years ago: Some of us who live in the Quad-Cities take the Mississippi River for granted, or at least we used to. But the river is not taken for granted by our visitors. And most Quad-Citians are realizing the importance of the river to this area as increased emphasis is placed on tourism.







(More History)